Avalanche Press Homepage Avalanche Press Online Store



SS Youth in
Beyond Normandy

Search



ABOUT SSL CERTIFICATES

 
 

Soldier Kings: The Seven Years War Worldwide

Frequently Asked Questions

*Note: This is the only official FAQ for this game. In all cases, the question has been answered by the game's designer.

Q: Can multiple interceptions happen?
A: No. No "chain" of interceptions is allowed.

Q: When a card says 1-3 resource, manpower etc., how is the exact number determined?
A: Roll one die, halve the result, round fractions up.

Q: Map Key Graphic. Is this correct? Or should it be 3 Manpower and 2 Resource (graphic says 2 Manpower and 4 Resource)?
A: 3 Manpower, 2 Resource (number of coins and soldiers).

Q: 4.1 Purchase Phase. In what order do players decide what they purchase? How about board placement for new units, where the order is VERY important?
A: Simultaneously in a friendly game, write-and-reveal in a cutthroat game.

Q: 6.2 Purchasing new units. The example in 6.2 shows new armies cost 2 Resource and 4 Manpower while the Player Aid Chart shows 2 Resource and 5 Manpower. Which is correct?
A: The Player Aid Chart is correct - 5 Manpower.

Q: 6.4 Recovery. Is this is the same as "Repair" on the Player Aid Chart?
A: Yes, and on a couple of cards as well.

Q: 9.6 Combat across Mountain Route. Does the defender add one to their rolls during ALL rounds, or only during the first combat round? Is this interpretation the same for sieges?
A: The defender adds one during all rounds. This is the same for sieges.

Q: 12.5. Lifting Sieges Example: Prussian units are besieging a space neutral to both Prussia and Austria. The fortification strength started at 3 and has been reduced to 1. Austrians enter the space and the Prussians leave. Does the fortification level stay at 1 or does it go back to 3 if the Austrians decide to immediately besiege?
A: 1, if it is not allied to Austria (nothing is "neutral" in this game).

Q: 15.1 Territorial Transfer. Can the power accepting surrender take less areas than the rule stipulates (such as deciding to take 0 in Europe or 0, 1, or 2 elsewhere)?
A: No, provided they are available.

Q: 15.2 Force Reparation. Must the surrendering power move his units out of the victorious powers areas, as well?
A: Yes.

Q: 15.3 Duration of Peace. Since one can't be attacked during winter turns, should winter turns be included in the duration of the die roll or just campaign turns?
A: All turns (Winter campaign turns are allowed by card play, though they appear rarely).

Q: 15.3 Duration of Peace. Can the player surrendering attack the victorious player during this time? If so, does this let the victorious player attack back, even if peace is being enforced?
A: Yes, and yes.

Q: 18.6 Papal States. If France, Spain, or Austria pay 2 Resources to besiege, is this in addition to normal siege costs?
A: Yes.

Q: 18.6 Papal States. If France, Spain, or Austria take the Papal States from another player, do they get double resources (and victory points) for the remainder of the time they hold the Papal States or just for the turn they took them?
A: Remainder of the time they hold them. The papacy views things in the very long term.

Q: 18.8 and 18.7. Example: Let's say France controls Saxony and Prussia conquers Saxony. France keeps 1 Saxon unit in play per 18.7. Later on, Austria takes Saxony from a Prussian surrender. Can both Austria and France have a Saxon unit in play? What if France and Austria are enemies?
A: Unlikely, but yes and yes. Much as mercenaries from Holy Roman Empire areas could fight one another.

Q: Scenarios. Are Event cards dealt before or after set-up?
A: Before (see 3.0).

Q: Scenarios. Does the Austrian side get to see what units the Prussian side has drawn prior to setting up?
A: Yes, as does the Prussian (draw units, then set up).

Q: In the set-up, the rules imply the British provincial army sets up in Virginia. Is this correct?
A: Yes.

Q: The starting set-ups state that all units start in the home country areas. However, for countries with overseas possessions (England, France, Holland, Spain) the rules state they don't get those resources without having a friendly fleet in the sea area. And the beginning resource/manpower values seem to imply nations are getting all the trade from overseas at game start. So, for countries with overseas possessions, are they allowed to set up their fleets at the start in sea areas adjacent to coastal colonies?
A: No. Peacetime fleets laid up their warships in European ports. As a variant rule, Spain should be allowed to start one at Cuba.

Q: The winter turn rules (20.0) state units may not move or conduct combat. Does this mean fleets can't move either?
A: Yes.

Q: The rules state Gibraltar fleets can intercept automatically fleets moving between the E. Atlantic and W. Mediterranean sea areas. Fine. What about regular interception? The map seems to place Gibraltar in the Mediterranean, but can they intercept fleets moving into both the E. Atlantic and W. Med areas?
A: Yes.

Q: Is a leader dead if you roll 12 (rules) or if you roll 10 (example of naval battle)?
A: 13.5 "removed from" play means removed from play for the remainder of the game.

Q: A Player has successfully allied with a Minor country (or Major country not being played by any other player). Does this alliance gives you Victory Points?
A: No. See 20.31. Only those areas with the players control markers count.

Updated: 09/30/2002