Avalanche Press Homepage Avalanche Press Online Store



Strategy in
Defiant Russia

Search



ABOUT SSL CERTIFICATES

 
 

Third Reich: The Second World War In Europe, 1939-1945

Frequently Asked Questions

This is the only official FAQ for this game. In all cases, the question has been answered by the game's designer.

Q: What's the difference between this edition of Third Reich and previous editions?
A: Click here to find out.

Q: If a TAC cannot control a Sea Zone (6.0), why can't a Naval Unit enter a Sea Zone containing a TAC (10.15)?
A: Rule 6.0 in the global rules (2nd edition rules - to be released with "Great Pacific War") to allow TAC to control a Sea Zone.

Q: What happens to a fleet in port when an enemy ground unit(s) advances into the port hex?
A: It must move to the nearest friendly port (just like an aircraft).

Q: As per rule 13.3 (Narrow seas), it states that LC, SURF and CV units can enter the hex if a land hex within two hexes of the narrow sea is neutral or friendly controlled at the start of the impulse. Does this mean that the Italian Navy can go through Gibraltar if Spain is neutral or if French Morocco is controlled or just a city in Spain such as Cadix or Granada? Same in Turkey with the Dardanelles?
A: The Italian Navy can exit the Mediterranean if Spain is neutral. However, the British will normally have control of the Western Atlantic. The danger that Spain allies with the Allied Powers, and prevents re-entry into the Mediterranean is usually enough of a threat to prevent this bold maneuver. The same applies to Turkey, and the Dardanelles. Historically, only the Vichy French made such maneuvers, but only with submarines.

Q: The rules don't appear to contain anything concerning the Russian winter. Is it true? Why?
A: It is true. The designers elected to let chance determine if the winter is short (the turn ending before the German player completed all of their impulses, for instance).

Q: Does a HQ's command radius extend over enemy units, or sea? i.e. does it consider only the hex distance or also how the HQs can reach the commanded units (through ZOC, enemy units sea or other)?
A: A HQ's command radius extends across enemy units and all terrain types.

Q: a. There exists an unofficial errata that states that a transport missions can go through sea zones that have "contested control". In such case may the naval mission be subject to naval impulse attack?
b. And what happens if there are both surface units and subs of enemy nations in the same area?
c. If no one controls the sea zone because of a SUB can surface ships impulse attack enemy transport missions in that area?
A: a. While the errata this question was derived from is still unofficial, the naval mission is subject to naval impulse attack.
b. Naval combat occurs between a moving fleet plus any "friendly" units in the sea control box against any enemy units in the same sea control box.
c. No. SUB units can eliminate enemy naval units and deny control in this manner, but are unable to control a sea zones by themselves.

Q: Ships carrying amphibious landing units cannot pass through sea zones enemy controlled. Does this mean that they can pass through zones that nobody controls on account of the presence of subs?
A: No. SUB units can eliminate enemy naval units and deny control in this manner, but are unable to control a sea zones by themselves.

Q. Does the range on airplanes (4 or 8) mean that the planes can fly 2 (or 4) hexes, attack, and then return to the airstrip? Or can the planes go 4 or 8, attack, and then, somehow, return to their starting point?
A: The first definition.

Q: What do the values on the playing pieces represent?
A: The two numbers are combat strength - movement. The units with one number just have combat strength.

Q: When an out of supply HQ's unit is eliminated, can it be rebuilt?
A: No. Be very careful with these. Permanent loss of an HQ can be devastating.

Q: In scenarios before 1942, when can the United States enter the game? Is it only when one of the political markers (Pearle Harbor, America Joins) are drawn or can the US enter the war anytime by a declaration of war like other major countries?
A: Only when the appropriate political marker has been drawn.

Q: The Political Marker "Russo - Japanese War" says that it takes place in WINTER '43 but the Explanation states: SUMMER '43. Which of the two is correct?
A: The marker.

Updated: 10/10/2002